Saturday, 14 March 2015

4th Cricket World Cup - 1987

ICC World Cup 1987 - India and Pakistan
Allan Border Winner 1987 Australia
Winner : Australia
Final Man of The Match : David Boon (Australia)
Fourth ODI Cricket World Cup was played in India between 8 International Teams. The first World Cup to be held away from England was also the first to feature neutral umpires. England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and West Indias participated for the 4th Cricket World Cup tournament. Total 27 games were played at 19 different venues of India. Allan Border went on to lift the world cup trophy for Australia and kick off an era of Australian domination on the field.
It was a face-off between two other old rivals - England and Australia. Australia won the final by just 7 runs and lifted World Cup trophy for the first time. David Boon (Australia) was man of the match for his impressive inning of 75 runs with his fatal reverse sweep in the final.
World Cup 1987 Facts and Figures
Host Country:
(England, India, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe)
As in 1983, but games were 50 overs per innings, not 60, to account for fewer hours of daylight on the subcontinent. Two groups of four teams, with the top two from each progressing to the semis and winners of semis contest final.
Prize money(winner):30000 pounds
Prize money(Runners-up):12000 pounds
Man of the match (Final):David Boon (Australia)
Tournament Stats
Most Runs
GA GoochEng847111558.8770.29
DC BoonAus84479355.8776.67
GR MarshAus8428126*61.1468.26
IVA RichardsWI639118165.16107.41
MW GattingEng83546050.5795.93
Most Wickets
CJ McDermottAus8185/4418.944.67
Imran KhanPak7174/3713.054.45
BP PattersonWI6143/3118.074.51
Maninder SinghInd7143/2120.004.00
EE HemmingsEng6134/5221.074.60
4th Cricket World Cup 1987 winner - Australia

PHOTO GALLARY - ICC World Cup 1987
Australia 1987 World Cup winnerAustralia 1987 World Cup Winner
Australia 1987 World Cup WinnerAustralia 1987 World Cup Winner
David Boon Australia 1987 World Cup WinnerAllan Border Australia 1987 World Cup Winner